House Villa and '1881'
Two dated houses either side of
394 and 396 Woodbridge Road stand on a ridge above the main road.
The houses boast a double-scrolled panel beneath the eaves.
'RED HOUSE VILLA
It is just possible that the inspiration for the house name came
from The Red House (as shown on our More
Almshouses page under 'Cranfield Court') which once stood near
today's Chelsworth Avenue. The scrolled name and date
plaque is remiscent of those found on houses built by the Freehold Land Society and, indeed, the map on that
page showing developments by the FLS up to 1934 shows that it did
develop these houses, even though they are outside the California estate boundary formed by the Cauldwell Hall Road.
map up to 1934
Across the way at number 398 (also developed by the FLS) is a large corner house with a bay
window to the left of the front door.
Either side of a Tudor rose, the unusually large date between
ground and first floor is the palindromic:
Please email any comments
and contributions by clicking here.
throughout the Ipswich
Historic Lettering site: Borin Van Loon
No reproduction of text or images without express written permission